Wednesday, December 18, 2013

The Square Official Trailer #1

I believe this is the first Documentary trailer I've shared, but I'm sure it won't be the last. Looks like such a great trailer about the revolution in Egypt and how even though it felt like so much had changed, nothing had. Looks fantastic and I cannot wait to see it!

Top 10 Family Christmas Movies

I LOVE Christmas, and therefore, I love Christmas movies. While researching for this list I realized there are a number of classic christmas films that I've never seen, so I imagine this list will change multiple times before I'm done. Hope everyone has a fantastic Christmas season

10.) The Nightmare Before Christmas
I've actually only seen this film once or twice, even though I love Tim Burton, its not a movie that really puts me in the Christmas spirit. I'm definitely going to watch it again this year and perhaps I will feel a little differently. Don't get me wrong though, still a great movie, super enjoyable and the sets and animations are super impressive, this was really during the prime for Tim Burton, definitely one of his greatest achievements.

Thursday, December 12, 2013

Godzilla Trailer



I don't think that I've ever seen a Godzilla film in its entirety, but I will definitely check out this one. Seems like a really great cast including Aaron Taylor-Johnson, Brian Cranston, and Elizabeth Olsen. Definitely interested to check it out!


Golden Globe Nominations


Another group of nominations were released today, its time for the Golden Globes!  A lot of differences between the SAG nominations, definitely a few surprises, both good and bad. Take a look!


Wednesday, December 11, 2013

SAG Awards Nominations


It's the most wonderful time of the year! Awards season has begun and I could not be more excited! The SAG Award nominations were released today so I thought I'd take a look and give some feedback.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Veronica Marks Movie Clip #1


Cannot wait for this movie! The TV show was so fantastic, and Kristen Bell is so wonderful. This clip looks absolutely perfect, clearly all of our favourite characters are back and my hopes are so high for the rest of the film now! 

Thursday, December 5, 2013

The Amazing Spider-Man 2 Trailer #1



Its been a while since I saw the first one, so its definitely time for a re-watch. I'm a huge fan of both Andrew Garfield and Emma Stone so I'm excited to see them, and Martin Sheen, Sally Field, and Dennis Leary are all back again. I'm assuming flashbacks. New to the cast is Jamie Foxx, Chris Cooper, and Paul Giamatti. Definitely excited for this one!

Tuesday, December 3, 2013

The Wolf of Wall Street - TV Spot


Every time I see a new trailer for this movie I want to see it even more. Scorsese + DiCaprio is ALWAYS a successful decision. I feel pretty confident this won't be any different. 


In Secret

This looks so eerie and amazing. Such a dark concept, but a fantastic cast. I think Elizabeth Olsen is a name we're going to be seeing a lot of in coming years. She was in a great film a couple of years ago called Martha Marcy May Marlene which was one of my favourite movies if 2011. I'm also really interested in the fact that its a period piece, always love those! Can't wait to see this film, looks so intense and thrilling! Definitely a twist in a normal love story.

Monday, December 2, 2013

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Official Extended 6 Min Trailer


Every time I see something new about this movie I want to see it even more. Looks gorgeous and so enjoyable. Really have high hopes for this one. I love Sean Penn, Ben Stiller and Kristen Wiig so it should be good!

Out Of The Furnace - TV Spot


This is the third trailer that I've seen for this movie and they seem to get better every time. I'm a huge fan of both Christian Bale and Casey Affleck as well as most of the rest of the cast so I'm so excited to see this film. Looks really fantastic.

Saturday, November 30, 2013

The Hunger Games: Catching Fire




IMDB: 8.4/10
Rotten Tomatoes: 89%(critics), 94%(audience)

Starring: Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Donald Sutherland, Stanley Tucci, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Jena Malone.
Written By: Simon Beaufoy(screenplay), Michael Arndt(screenplay), Suzanne Collins(novel)
Directed By: Francis Lawrence

Release Date:
Described by IMDB as:
"
Katniss Everdeen has returned home safe after winning the 74th Annual Hunger Games along with fellow tribute Peeta Mellark. Winning means that they must turn around and leave their family and close friends, embarking on a "Victor's Tour" of the districts. Along the way Katniss senses that a rebellion is simmering, but the Capitol is still very much in control as President Snow prepares the 75th Annual Hunger Games (The Quarter Quell) - a competition that could change Panem forever."

Tuesday, November 26, 2013

The Secret Life of Walter Mitty Trailer



I've heard of the film before, and bot the positive and negative reviews, but I believe this is the first trailer I've seen. Looks fantastic! Most of Ben Stiller's recent films have been hit or miss for me, but I'm really excited about this one. Ben Stiller, Kristen Wiig, Sean Penn, and Adam Scott make up some of the cast and it is also directed by Ben Stiller. Can't wait to see it!

Saturday, November 23, 2013

Muppets Most Wanted


Come on, Ricky Gervais, Tina Fey and Ty Burrell with The Muppets?? This is going to be so good! I loved the last Muppets movie, and many before that, so I'm excited that they're having such a successful come back! Can't wait to see the film!

Thursday, November 21, 2013

The Book Thief Trailer



I'm definitely behind on this movie, but I saw the first trailer today and had to share. I love history and films on the holocaust tend to be fantastic and this one looks no different. Looks like a great cast and the cinematography looks gorgeous. Can't wait to see how it comes out, but for now check out the trailer below!

Saturday, November 16, 2013

Winter's Tale Trailer



I haven't heard anything about film until right now when I noticed it on IMDB's trailer page. I'm a sucker for romance, especially when Colin Farrell and Russell Crowe are involved. Apparently the writer/director wrote the screenplay for one of my all-time favourite films, A Beautiful Mind, as well as Cinderella Man, two fantastic films. The cast is great, as I previously mentioned Colin Farrell and Russell Crowe join Jennifer Connelly, Jessica Brown Findlay, Matt Bomer, Will Smith, and William Hurt. It seems like it has a bit of fantasy in there as well which makes it pretty much a perfect match for me. Hopefully the film turns out as good as the trailer. Take a look below!


Thursday, November 14, 2013

Disney's Maleficent Trailer


I've been waiting for this trailer since I heard about the film almost a year ago, and it did not disappoint. The costume and make up looks perfect and stayed very true to the original Disney animated film of Sleeping Beauty in 1959. Angelina Jolie was a perfect choice for this role, I think her features are very exaggerated which are perfect for a disney villain. Playing opposite of Jolie is Elle Fanning in the role of Princess Aurora. I think she was also perfectly cast and I'm a really big fan of hers. The trailer looks pretty exciting and I'm really interested in how the film turns out. I think some of the remakes in the last few years have been hit or miss so I'm hoping this one is a hit! Check out the trailer below!

Noah Trailer


This is a fairly different project then I've seen from Darren Aronofsky before, so when I saw the cast I was pretty excited! Russell Crowe and Jennifer Connelly are reuniting which I hadn't realized until I saw the trailer, the last film I saw them in together was one of my all-time favourite films A Beautiful Mind which was really fantastic. The rest of the cast includes Emma Watson, Logan Lerman, Anthony Hopkins and many more. Gorgeous trailer, can't wait to see how it turns out! Check it out below!

Wednesday, November 6, 2013

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug Official Trailer #3

 

Another trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug has been released, and its the best one yet. Looks amazing, and absolutely gorgeous. The only thing I'm disappointed about is that I won't be able to see it in IMAX upon its release! On the bright side, only a little over a month left! Check it out below!

Saturday, November 2, 2013

Labor Day Trailer


The newest film from Jason Reitman, he has some really great movies under his belt, and the trailer shows us a story that seems quite compelling, so I will definitely be checking this movie out. Kate Winslet is one of my favourite actresses, and I'm a huge fan of Josh Brolin. Check it out!

Wednesday, October 30, 2013

Top 5 Scorsese Films


Top 5 Scorsese Films

On my Top 10 Directors list Scorsese topped it. I absolutely adore his films, he absolutely mastered crime thrillers. All of his films have a lot of grit to them, but they always have so many amazing twists and turns. If you haven't seen any of his films, check yourself, because his films are fantastic. For those of you who might disagree with some of the films I left out, I haven't seen Raging Bull so, apologies that it will not break the top 5, but it IS under honourable mentions!


The Hunger Games: Catching Fire Final Trailer


The final trailer for The Hunger Games: Catching Fire has been released. Less then a month now! I was pretty disappointed with the last movie, so I'm hoping that this one will be better. New director, so I have hope! Check it out.

The Wolf of Wall Street Official Trailer #2


New Trailer for The Wolf of Wall Street! I love Martin Scorsese, and I love Leonardo DiCaprio. I'm pretty sure I'm going to enjoy this movie. Looks like this movie is going to be awesome!

Tuesday, October 29, 2013

Top 10 Halloween Movies For Kids

Its that time of year again, and boy do I love my Halloween movies! I already posted my list of Adult Halloween movies, but there are some really fun Halloween movies for kids as well!
10.) Under Wraps
Really fun Disney Channel movie from 1997 that follows 3 kids who find a mummy who has been brought back to life after 3,000 years. They're on a mission to find a resting place for Harold before Halloween night or he will turn to dust and lose any chance of being reunited with his long-lost love. Funny little movie and I always enjoyed it!

X-Men: Days of Future Past- First Official Trailer


I'm a huge fan of X-Men and I think this is going to be amazing! Past and Present(or is it Future?), Good and Evil come together to end the war once and for all. Cannot express how excited I am for this! Check it out!

Monday, October 28, 2013

Top 10 Halloween Movies For Adults

I definitely need to start off by saying that I hate horror movies and therefore there are going to be some classic slasher films missing that most people would expect to see. Apologies to those people, but I just have no interest in those ones. However, I can definitely say that all of the films listed are fantastic movies so please enjoy!


10.) Sleepy Hollow
Surprise! Tim Burton and Johnny Depp made a movie together! I haven't seen this movie in a few years, but damn is it creepy and weird. It definitely fits the halloween criteria with the classic Headless Horseman tale. This movie is one of my favourite Tim Burton movies, which obviously means that the lead is Johnny Depp. This is a perfect character for Depp and he plays it very well. The rest of the class is great and includes Christina Ricci, Michael Gambon, Richard Griffiths, Jeffrey Jones, and Christopher Walken. Depp plays Ichabod Crane, who is sent to Sleepy Hollow to investigate the decapitations of 3 people.  He soon discovers the classic tale of the Headless Horseman and attempts to solve the crimes committed.
IMDB: 7.4/10

Wednesday, October 16, 2013

Scarface (1932)


IMDB: 7.8/10
Rotten Tomatoes: 100%(critics), 82%(audience)


Stars: Paul Muni, Ann Dvorak, Karen Morley
Written By: Armitage Trail(novel), Ben Hecht(screenplay)
Directed By: Howard Hawks, Richard Rosson

Produced By: Howard Hughes

Release Date: 9 April 1932
Described by IMDB as: "
An ambitious and near insanely violent gangster climbs the ladder of success in the mob, but his weaknesses prove to be his downfall."


Tuesday, October 15, 2013

The Fifth Estate Trailer

This trailer has been out for a few months now, but I only saw it for the first time on Friday when I went to see the film Prisoners. Everyone knows who Julian Assange is, and what Wikileaks is, but I'm really excited to see the story behind the movement. When I saw that Benedict Cumberbatch was playing Assange I was so excited, he is a great actor and he seems as though he does a great job portraying the Wikileaks founder. If you haven't seen the trailer, take a look!


Out of the Furnace

Christian Bale is one of my favourite actors, so I'm pretty much guarenteed to watch anything that he is in, but the story looks great, and the cast looks fantastic. I'm super excited to see this one. With a cast like this one which also includes Zoe Saldana, Willem Dafoe, Woody Harrelson, Casey Affleck, Forest Whitaker, and Sam Shepard, I definitely see some Oscar possibilities in this one. The director is Scott Cooper, the director of Crazy Heart, so I definitely don't think its a long shot. Check out the trailers! I included both because I liked the first one better, but a new one was released last week. I really enjoy the music choices for both, I love Pearl Jam so that pretty much sold me in the first one, and who doesn't love a good Neil Young song in a new light? Enjoy.

Trailer #1 Trailer #2

Tuesday, October 1, 2013

The Giver being turned into a Film



The 1993 novel The Giver  is being turned into film, and already has an impressive and interesting cast. So far it as been confirmed that the cast will include Meryl Streep, Katie Holmes, Jeff Bridges, Brandon Thwaites, Alexander Skarsgård, and apparently, Taylor Swift.

The film, and adaptation of the popular young adult novel by Lois Lowry, stars Thwaites as a young boy who is selected for life service as a Receiver of Memories. He works with The Giver (Bridges), and old man who helps the boy with his gifts. Streep will play the Chief Elder, who assigns the young their tasks, in the film about a society in which there is no sickness, conflict, or racism, and Holmes will play the young boy's mother.

The movie which is set to start filming October 7th in Cape Town, South Africa, will be directed by Phil Noyce and the screenplay was written by Michael Mitnick.


Two More Harry Potter Films In The Works?


Last month I mentioned that Warner Bros. and J.K Rowling were teaming up for Rowling's screenwriting debut in the new movie to take place in the well-known wizarding world. That film was going to be based off of her book Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Today it's been released that Warner Bros. got the film rights for two more Harry Potter spin-offs based on J.K Rowling's books Quidditch Through The Ages and  The Tales of Beedle the Bard. More exciting news for Harry Potter Fans!

The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug - Official New Trailer



Yet another new trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug has been released, and it is an exciting one at that. We get to see, and hear from Smaug and are introduced to a whole lot of new characters. Come on December 13th!

Enjoy!




Monday, September 30, 2013

Nosferatu (1922)


IMDB: 8.0/10
Rotten Tomatoes: 96% (critics) 88%(audience)
Roger Ebert: 4/4 stars

Stars: Max Schreck, Greta Schröder, Ruth Landshoff
Written By: Henrik Galeen(Screenplay), Bram Stoker(Novel).
Directed By: F.W. Murau

Release Date: 4 March 1922
Described by IMDB as: "Vampire Count Orlok expresses interest in a new residence and real estate agent Hutter's wife. Silent classic based on the story 'Dracula'."

The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari (1920)


IMDB: 8.0/10
Rotten Tomatoes: 100% (critics) 88%(audience)
Roger Ebert: 4/4 stars

Stars: Werner Krauss, Conrad Veidt, Fiedrich Feher
Written By: Carl Mayer, Hans Janowitz
Directed By: Robert Wiene

Release Date: 26 Februrary 1920
Described by IMDB as: "
Dr. Caligari's somnambulist, Cesare, and his deadly predictions."

Saturday, September 14, 2013

Julianne Moore Cast in Hunger Games Franchise



Julianne Moore has been cast as President Alma Coin in the final two instalments "The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Parts 1 and 2". This is a big role in these films and I'm excited to see what she brings to the character. I'm a big fan of Moore, so I think she'll be a great addition to the already fantastic cast including Jennifer Lawrence, Josh Hutcherson, Liam Hemsworth, Woody Harrelson, Elizabeth Banks, Stanley Tucci, Philip Seymour Hoffman, Donald Sutherland, Lenny Kravitz, and many, many more in The Hunger Games, and Catching Fire. I actually wasn't aware that Mockingjay was going to be divided into two movies. Exciting stuff!
Will you be going to see the rest of the Hunger Games franchise?

Thursday, September 12, 2013

J.K Rowling Announces New Movie Set in Wizarding World. Harry Potter Fans Rejoice!


J.K Rowling announced today on her Facebook page that she will be writing her first screenplay under Warner Bros. for a new film set in the Magical world which Harry Potter was created. The film itself will not include Harry Potter, or possibly any familiar characters, but will be based on one of Hogwart's textbooks "Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them. Needless to say, as a Potter Fan, I was mildly freaking out this afternoon upon hearing the news. Here is the full statement from her Facebook page. Please be filled with joy as I was!

The Hobbit: Desolation of Smaug Teaser Trailer

Originally Posted: 11 June 2013


New Teaser Trailer for The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug. How exciting! The New Poster (pictured above) was also released.

  

Robocop Trailer



I noticed a few days ago that the first trailer for the new Robocop movie was released and I thought I should share. The cast looks fantastic so I am super excited about this!

Take a look:


New The Wolf of Wall Street Trailer

Originally Posted: 17 June 2013


New trailer for Scorcese's newest film, The Wolf of Wall Street. Loves me some Leo.
Enjoy!

Top 10 Non-Cartoon Kids Movies

13 June 2013

So its been more then a month since posting anything, but for me summer has come and I'm working full time. However, I got a new position this week that leave me more time on the computer so you'll probably and hopefully see more of me from now on. Most of these films I'd say are more directed towards 7-12 year olds. I'd say maybe Labyrinth, Space Jam and Matilda might be an exception for those. Its not that the rest aren't appropriate for them, but more that they might not like them as much. All of them are fantastic films but for this one I went 100% with my own personal experience and preference. Please enjoy this weeks list, Top 10 Non-Cartoon Kids Movies.

10.) The Muppets Treasure Island
I've never had a huge connection with The Muppets, but I thought a lot of people who feel this list would be unacceptable without it. I've only seen this film once or twice many, many years ago, but I remember it being enjoyable. I'm sort of using this to include all Muppets movies. Muppets A Christmas Carol is equally enjoyable. Every kid needs to know who the Muppets are, life just isn't the same without Kermit the Frog!

Top 10 Non-Disney Cartoon Movies

Originally Posted: 4 May 2013

First of all, I think I've missed at least the last 2 weeks, possibly 3, so I'm just gonna have to go ahead and apologize for the 2 of you who actually care about these lists. I spent the last week with a 3 year old so I guess I can say I was inspired for this weeks list. I'm even going to attempt a second list as well so, fingers crossed on that one. So, here it is, 3 weeks late, Top 10 Non-Disney Cartoon Movies.

10.) My Neighbour Totoro
I honestly don't even know how to explain this movie but I'll try. Its a movie from Japan and its incredibly quirky. Its about two young girls who move to a new home. They go exploring in the woods near their house and discover Totoro, a monsterish thing who, with the help of his friends, bring them both on amazing adventures while they try to cope with their mother being in the hospital trying to recover from an illness. I think thats just about as best as I can figure to describe it. Its SO much fun and I always enjoyed it growing up. No worries, there are english versions, no one is expecting you to learn Japanese to enjoy this movie. 

Top 10 Musicals

Originally Posted: 17 April 2013

First off, I think just about anyone who knows anything about Musicals is going to completely disagree with 90% of my choices on this list, but I don't care. I don't have a music theatre background, so I think that when its in a movie, and not on Broadway or in an Opera, its more important to have great acting then perfect singing. Either way, please enjoy this weeks list; Top 10 Movie Musicals.


10.) Mamma Mia
Against all of my best judgement I love this movie. I don't know if its simply my love of ABBA or not, but the first time I saw this I spent the whole movie laughing. Is this a great movie? Absolutely not, but is it some of the most fun you will ever have watching a movie? Hell yes. The cast is incredibly impressive but Pierce Brosnan is absolutely embarrassing in this movie. I'm sure he's an ok actor in general, but I was really almost unable to watch him in this one. However the rest of the cast, including Meryl Streep,Amanda SeyfriedColin Firth, Stellan SkarsgårdJulie WaltersChristine Baranski, and Dominic Cooper, were really great. I thought the singing was also fantastic, Amanda Seyfried actually shocked me with her songs. Meryl and the rest of them were mostly just "alright" but none of them really sang any challenging songs so I think they had just enough singing abilities to pull it off. All of this exclude Pierce Brosnan who, again, was terrible in this movie. I love that it takes place in Greece, which is such a beautiful setting for the movie. This movie is so much fun, its super cheesy and hilarious. Caution, you may lose your ability to control yourself from singing ABBA songs.

Top 10 Romantic Films

8 April 2013

So I took a bit of a break last week, terribly sorry for the inconvenience, This week's list is Top 10 Romanic Films. Did not have an easy time with this one. There are some really fantastic romance films, and I really wanted to get a wide range of them in there. I changed the list about 15 times before I finished, and chances are I'll change it another 5 before I post it. I think I've made the correct choices.


10.) Sleepless In Seattle
Meg Ryan has a knack for being in some seriously romantic films, especially the ones that also have Tom Hanks in them. Some people think that this film is creepy, and I can definitely understand, but I think its one of those things where when someone does something and you're interested in them, it comes off as sweet, but if you're not, it comes off as creepy. Personally, I think its romantic and that kid is just too damn cute. Personally, Tom Hanks isn't the one who comes to mind when I think of heartthrobs, but in these movies, he really is the perfect guy. Tom Hanks really seems to be one of the nicest people on earth. Meg Ryan is just so sweet in this film, I really love her, she always seems to find herself in really loveable roles, although it could be because she's a loveable person herself. Great cast outside of Hanks and Ryan as well, Rosie O'DonnellRita WilsonVictor Garber, and Bill Pullman. The film was nominated for 2 Oscars for Best Writing and Best Original Song. Great story, and I was so happy to witness their chemistry again in You've Got Mail, another great romance movie. It was nominated for 2 Oscars for Best Writing and Best Original Score.

Top 10 Comedies

24 March 2013

Since last week's list was full of tears, I thought it would be appropriate to change it up a bit and make this list full of laughter. Here's the list, I found this one pretty hard because I think that people's sense of humour are pretty different, so I think a lot of people will probably disagree with me on a lot of these, but this is my list and my blog so I don't care.


10.) Easy A
I honestly don't know if this film is genuinely funny, or if the 80s bratpack movie references just took over the nostalgia part of me, but I really love this movie. Emma Stone is fantastic as always in this film, so many great moments. Really shows what high school is like, and how quickly rumours are started and how quickly you can go from unknown to the most popular name in school overnight. Genuinely hilarious. Apart from Stone, the cast also includes Amanda BynesPenn Badgley, Patricia Clarkson,Stanley TucciDan ByrdMalcolm McDowellThomas Hayden ChurchCam GigandetLisa KudrowFred Armisen, and Aly Michalka. This film also made me not hate the song "Pocket Full of Sunshine.


Top 10 Tearjerkers

18 March 2013

So, this is obviously not a Sunday, so I'm a few days late this week, but its been a busy week. I'm a girl so I really do enjoy a good tearjerker. However, most of these are not chick-flicks so I think its important that that is clear so that males will not be afraid to also look at this. All of these are fantastic movies, but I'm not raking them by how good the films are themselves, but by how the number of tears they managed to wrangle out of me. All but 2 of these films one Oscars, so I can assure you they really are all fantastic films. Here is this weeks (late) Top 10 list: Top 10 Tearjerkers.


10.) Finding Neverland
This is a film about the family who inspired J.M. Barrie to write the famous story of Peter Pan. A very sweet story with a lot of drama and tragedy surrounding it. The film is directed by the ever talented Marc Foster, and has a very impressive cast includingJohnny Depp as JM Barrie, Kate Winslet, Dustin Hoffman, and Freddie Highmore. I think that their casting was really perfect, and the acting was really fantastic, which can really come as no surprise from the names I just listed. A really interesting way to come up with the infamous story of children not wanting and choosing not to grow up. Sylvia Davies(Winslet) and her four young children change something inside of the playwright who at the time of meeting them has just had another one of his plays flop and is desperately searching for something new, and thats exactly what he finds. It was nominated 7 Oscars and won for best score. 

Top 10 Thrillers

This week's list is Top 10 Thrillers. I think a lot of people think that Thriller and Horror are the same things, and it is a pretty thin line between then, and the fact that Horror films are my least favorite genre, and Thrillers are my very favorite genre is also sort of confusing to most people. My definition of Thrillers are films that normally have a great storyline, are very suspenseful, but don't use cheap tricks to get cheap scares out of you by something jumping out in front  of you. The most fun ones are normally psychological thrillers, but basically any thriller is fine with me. Here are my Top 10 Thrillers, the list, so far, closest to my heart.

10.) Insomnia
Its actually been a little while since I saw this film, but I absolutely adored it. SUCH a great murder mystery, and definitely a thriller. Between the brilliant actors(Al Pacino, Robin Williams, and Hilary Swank) and having Christopher Nolan as the director I'm not sure how it really could have gone wrong. Another clear example that Robin Williams is more then a great comedian, he's also a very capable serious actor. I'm not sure if most people are aware of that, if you are one of those people watch this film immediately. 

Top 10 Disney Movies

Originally Posted: 3 March 2013

This weeks Top 10 list is definitely one of the most important lists to me, it holds a lot of nostalgia, and pretty much defines my childhood. Definitely a list that is important to share with the future generations. All of the honourably mentions are very good as well, but these were definitely my top 10.


10.) The Rescuers
I am also including The Rescuers Down Under in this.A movie about two mice and their friends who rescue children? Who wouldn't enjoy that kind of movie? I think that movies about mice are always funny/interesting because they normally involve making functioning objects out of tiny(to us) household items, such as the sardine can in the photo on the left. They really are both fantastic children's films, full of adventure, mystery and suspense. 



Top 10 Actresses

Originally Posted: 24 February 2013

This list might actually have been the easiest to rank surprisingly. Although, on this one I went more for talent over favouritism. Technically my favorite actress would probably be Carey Mulligan, but is she actually the best actress in the world? No, probably not. So, here it is my list of Top 10 Actresses.


10.) Jennifer Lawrence
I'm SO glad that she had already been nominated for an Oscar before doing The Hunger Games so that she doesn't get put into the same trap as Kristen Stewart. And then of course having Silver Linings Playbook released the same year and having all of these awards under her belt now have definitely cemented her as a legitimate actress in the worlds eyes. So far in her fairly short career she's been in such films asWinter's BoneX-Men: First ClassThe Hunger Games, and Silver Linings Playbook. She's also signed on to do another X-Men film and the next two Hunger Games movies. In the last 2 years she's been nominated for 2 Oscars, nominated for a Golden Globe, and won a Golden Globe. Heck, by to night she could have won one of those Oscar noms. She has made me extremely excited for the new generation of talent that are now up and coming. She's had some truly amazing performances so far with many more to come! 

Top 10 Actors

Surprisingly this is the list that so far has taken me the longest to decide. All of these actors are top notch actors, including the ones in the honourable mentions list. All of these actors have either won Oscars themselves or have been in Oscar winning movies. I still feel bad about not being able to fit a couple of people in the Top 10 so please check out the honourable mentions as well.



10.) Daniel Day-Lewis
Oh Daniel, what a treasure he is. The first movie I saw him in wasGangs of New York and I fell in love with him, funny I know because he's a total bad-guy and it not attractive at all, but I just knew, he was amazing. Later I saw There Will Be BloodIn The Name Of The Father, and most recently, Lincoln. However, I think he is most famous for My Left Foot for which he won an Oscar. So far he's won the Golden Globe and BAFTA for his performance in Lincoln, and I'm pretty confident he'll be winning the Oscar as well. I'd watch any movie he was in, he is magnificent, and I think he's one of the greatest character actors of our time.







Top 10 Directors

This weeks list topic is Top 10 Directors. I found this list very difficult because most of these directors who have created different worlds that have changed our lives, or taught us something about ourselves that we didn't know beforehand. 


10.) Sam Mendes
I think most people have actually not heard of Sam Mendes, although his name is getting a lot of coverage lately for the amazing job he did on the most recent Bond film SkyfallHe's actually only Directed 9 films so far, but all of them have been pretty well-known and extremely well recieved. American BeautyRoad to PerditionJarheadRevolutionary Road, etc. Since American Beauty is one of my very favorite films of all time, I had to allow him to make it onto this list. Like I said, he's only done a few films but thats incredibly exciting because he definitely got some serious potential, and after seeing his most recent film, Skyfall, I can only assume its going to keep getting better.



Top 10 Documentaries

This weeks top 10 list is Top 10 Documentaries of All Time.I watch an absurd number of Documentaries, so many that I often forget them, so trying to remember specific ones for this list was actually rather difficult. There are hundreds of fantastic documentaries, but I wanted to make this list about ones that I thought were the most important, most informative, and left the biggest impact on me, because I think thats really the point of documentaries. So here it goes:



10.) Enron: The Smartest Guys In The Room
Very intriguing and mind-blowing documentary about this giant company and its enormous corruption which led to the company's ultimate demise. Its unbelievable the level that they went to to make money. These were some seriously bad people, they were incredibly greedy people who went to any length to get money. I urge pretty much everyone to watch this movie to understand just how the world really works and why Capitalism isn't always the answer. Its a great system in theory, but when you account for the human error of greed, its a system that just can't work. You can't let men have that much power without assuming that they will gain a god complex.


IMDB: 7.7/10

Top 10 Film Trilogies

Originally Posted: 27 January 2013

So, we all have our own favorites when it comes to trilogies. I think that a lot of people also become pretty passionate about their favorites, because unlike just one movie, you get tons of time for character development and therefore you get much more attached to the characters and the story lines are able to become more more intricate. So here is this weeks Top 10 list: Top 10 Film Trilogies

10.) Jason Borne Trilogy
I actually almost forgot about these ones when I was first making the list. I've only ever seen each one once, so theres actually a huge possibility that they should be higher, but until the day comes that I decide I need to see them again, they will stay at #10. These made me have some serious respect for Matt Damon, especially in The Borne Ultimatum, where he did a lot of the stunt work himself. These films are a perfect example of how to have an action movie with a real story to it. Really great.

Top 10 80s Teen/Brat Pack Movies

Like I said, I've decided I want to try and do a new post every Sunday. I've decided that what I'm actually going to do is to have a Top 10 list every Sunday. The last few I've done have been a lot of fun so I figure, why not make it a new thing. Hopefully some people out there will enjoy them! So here they are: my list of Top 10 80's Teen/Brat Pack movies.




10.) Dirty Dancing
I put this last, only because I was iffy on even putting it on the list because its not really a "Brat Pack" film, or the kind of "high school" movie I had intended, but she is a teen so I think it counts. Great coming of age/ discovering love movie.





Top 10 Films of All Time

Originally Posted: 13 January 2013
First off, I've decided that I'm going to try and make an honest effort at posting a review or list every Sunday starting this week. This doesn't mean that I won't be posting more then that every week, but I just wanted to have a day where I definitely posted something. Thanks and enjoy the rest of the post. --Gill.

Some of these movies will probably be confusing (ie Perks of Being a Wallflower as there were a number of other films before it on my Top Films of 2012 list) but I think that theres a difference between an excellently made film, and a film that you feel a connection to, or one that really stands out to you. I chose most of the pictures because I felt they really represented what each film was about. So here they are, my top 10 films of all time.





10.) The Godfather
A lot of people are definitely thinking that this should be higher on the list, but there are just more movies that I had a stronger reaction to.

This is my first introduction to Marlon Brando, who was such an epic character as Don Vito Corleone. Everything about this movie is perfect. It is clearly the greatest gangster movie of all time, and many people believe it is the greatest film of all time, and clearly I definitely think it's up there.


Check out my review HERE