Thursday, July 3, 2014

Before I Go To Sleep Trailer


This is the first I've heard of this film, but damn it looks good! I'm down for anything involving Colin Firth, and this looks like one hell of a thriller, which is my favourite genre, so I'm currently hella excited to see this one! Check out the trailer below!

Friday, May 30, 2014

Kill the Messenger Official Trailer #1


I'm a sucker for a good political thriller and this looks pretty great! I'm generally a fan of Jeremy Renner and the story looks very intriguing so I'll definitely be checking it out!

Monday, May 19, 2014

Wish I Was Here Official Trailer #1


This looks pretty wonderful. Zach Braff is pretty great as is Mandy Patinkin, so I'm definitely excited to check this out! Hopefully its as good as the trailer suggests!

Friday, May 16, 2014

Interstellar Official Trailer #1


Christopher Nolan is one of my favourite directors, he created my favourite trilogy, The Dark Knight Trilogy, and I've been dying to see what he was coming up with next, and I don't think he's going to disappoint, this looks AWESOME! Surprised by the Matthew McConaughey choice, but I'll accept it.

Friday, May 9, 2014

Dawn Of The Planet Of The Apes Official Tailer #2


Apparently this is the second trailer but I believe this is the first one I've seen. I loved Rise of the Planet of the Apes, so I'm super excited for this one!

Wednesday, April 16, 2014

X-Men: Days of Future Past Final Trailer


I've been excited for this film since the first posters were released, but my god, this trailer is the greatest thing I've seen so far. So much action, and we get SO much more information in this one then we have in others. Really excited to see this one, Come on May 23rd! Check out the trailer below!


Tuesday, April 15, 2014

A Most Wanted Man Trailer #1


This is the first I've heard of this film, but it looks really interesting. I love a good thriller, especially ones that involve international spies. Awesome cast including Robin Wright, Rachel McAdams, Philip Seymour Hoffman, and Willem Dafoe. Can't wait to see how this one turns out! Check out the trailer below!


Maps to the Stars Trailer #1


David Cronenberg's newest film is jammed packed with stars and looks like a really interesting movie. Obviously because of the director its going to be a pretty intense film but I've been rarely let down by Cronenberg so I'll definitely be checking it out, plus I 'm a huge fan of John Cusack, Julianne Moore, and Mia Wasikowska. Check it out below!


Thursday, April 3, 2014

The Drop Trailer #1


This trailer looks great! According to this, it is apparently from the same author as Gone Baby Gone, Shutter island, and Mystic River all of which I am a huge fan of. Its from a fairly new director, but I'm definitely interested in checking it out. Looks like a great cast including Tom Hardy, Noomi Rapace and James Gandolfini. Check it out below!


Thursday, March 27, 2014

Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles Trailer

I am NOT a fan of Michael Bay, but I really hope that this will turn out ok. I never watched much TMNT as a child, but I think I may start before the film is released. Might give the other films a go too.. really hoping this doesn't suck! The trailer doesn't look too bad, but I'm not much of a fan of Megan Fox either. Check it out!

Monday, March 24, 2014

X-Men: Days of Future Past Official Trailer #2


SO excited for this one. I'm a huge X-Men fan so combining the past and future for some film is mind-blowingly amazing.  Check it out!

Saturday, March 22, 2014

Top 5 Leonardo DiCaprio Performances

This one is going to be a mighty difficult decision. Leo has so many fantastic performances in some fantastic movies, so picking a top 5 is tough. I want to make it clear that this is not the list of my favourite of his movies, its my favourite of his acting performances.


5.) The Departed
This first on this list of a team up between Leo and Martin Scorsese, and a fantastic example of the magic that comes when the two come together. Marty is obviously known for his gangster films thanks to Goodfellas for example, but the departed holds it's own in that category as well. Fantastic classic story of the spy within a highly organized organization, only this time the organizations have spies in both. Some other actors that appear in the film include Matt DamonJack NicholsonMark WhalbergMartin SheenAlex Baldwin, and Vera Farmiga. It has an 8.5/10 rating on IMDB and is #49 on its Top 250 Films list, and 92%(critics) and 94%(audience) on Rotten Tomatoes. It was nominated for 5 Oscars winning 4 including Best Film Editing, Best Adapted Screenplay, Best Director for Martin Scorsese and Best Picture.

Wednesday, March 19, 2014

Top 5 David Fincher Films

David Fincher is one of my favourite Directors, I have yet to see a single film of his that I haven't thoroughly enjoyed. If you've never seen any of the following 5 films you should do so immediately. The first 4 are all thrillers, mostly crime, but even if you aren't into that sort of thing, they are incredibly interesting films and should definitely be seen.


5.) The Social Network 
I think some people would go into this film thinking its boring, but its actually incredibly interesting. Its quite nice to know the origin of something I use every day. Compelling story, and fantastic acting. It was written by Aaron Sorkin who is always good. The Wilklevoss twins are both played by Armie Hammer, Mark Zuckerberg is played by Jesse Eisenberg, and we also see Rooney Mara, Andrew Garfield, Justin Timberlake, and Rashida Jones. It was nominated for 8 Oscars, winning 3 for Best Writing, Best Film Editing, and Best Original Score. It has a 7.8/10 rating on IMDB and a 96%(critics), 86%(audience) rating on Rotten Tomatoes.

Peanuts Teaser Trailer

When I first saw a still for the film, I was not impressed, but the clip leaves me wanting more. Its been a long time since Charlie Brown and his friends have come out with a new film, so fingers crossed it turns out well. Check out the clip below!

The Giver Trailer

I just started reading the novel so I'm very excited to see the film. It stars Meryl Streep, Jeff Bridges, Alexander Skarsgård, Katie Holmes, Taylor Swift, and a bunch of new comers. I'm excited to see what they do with the original material! Check out the trailer below!

Wednesday, February 19, 2014

The Road - An Experimental Film


The Road from Gill Dawe on Vimeo.

An experimental film, filmed in February 2014. Filmed and Edited by Gill Dawe, Camera Assistant Greg Dawe. Music: Guaranteed by Eddie Vedder from the "Into the Wild" soundtrack.

Tuesday, February 4, 2014

Silent Night- A Student Film


This is my first short film, a silent film that was made in December 2013. Had a great time filming it, and despite the few technical difficulties, I'm very happy with the final results.

Tuesday, January 14, 2014

Transcendence Trailer #1

The trailer was released last month, but in all of the Christmas excitement, somehow I missed it. I feel like its been a while since I've seen Johnny Depp in something that I've really enjoyed, so I'm hoping this will break the curse. Looks really interesting, so I'll definitely be checking it out!

Friday, January 3, 2014

Veronica Mars Trailer

Veronica Mars was definitely a breath of fresh-air in a sea of fakeness in the early 2000's, and now after 9 long years, she's back in her full glory. Looks absolutely amazing and I cannot wait to see the movie! Check out the link below!